top of page

About Our Church

Our Mission

We, the members of Graham Memorial Presbyterian Church, seek to glorify God and Christ Jesus through our inclusive worship, through our mission work to our neighbors in need, and through our lives. 
Who We Are

Church History

Graham Memorial has a long history of Christian ministry, which has been supported throughout the years by faithful church members as well as members of the Forrest City community.

The church was originally known as The Presbyterian Church of Forrest City which was organized in 1874 by Rev. W. S. Davies of Cotton Plant, Arkansas. The first church building was erected in 1885 and  in 1903 there were 16 members on the roll. As the church grew, construction on a new church building began in September 1922, which is the site of our present sanctuary.

Graham Memorial Presbyterian Church Forrest City, Arkansas

In the spring of 1923, the congregation changed the name of the church to The W. S. Graham Memorial Prebyterian Church since a significant gift was given from Mrs. W. S. Graham in memory of her husband. The church property was expanded to include an educational building, built in 1962, and a fellowship hall named Pettus Hall was added  in 1969. Then in September 2000, the Christian Activities Building (C.A.B.), was dedicated. The C.A.B. serves as the home to the “Forrest City Fireballers” basketball program run by Coach Jim Bailey, and is used for recreation purposes by church members and the community.

As Presbyterians, we believe that we are reformed but always reforming. God is not done with us yet and  we look forward to all that God is going to do through our church and for our community in our future history. 


The Session


Neely Parker Carter
Dr. Jim DeRossit
Mike Easley
Berta Ann Elphingstone


Janet Benson
Kim Danehower
Ben Hess
Dr. Frank Schwartz


Elizabeth Alderson
John Alderson IV
Blake DeVazier
KK Parker

Church Leadership

Kim Danehower
Clerk of Session

Ron Cockmon

Dr. John Alderson
President, Men of the Church

Berta Ann Elphingstone
Soup Kitchen Coordinator

Claire Cranford
Secretary & Treasurer, Presbyterian Women

Church Staff

Dr. Michael Qualls.png

Rev. Dr. Michael Qualls

GMPC Staff | Alex Turner

Alex Turner

Staff Ruth Ann Vowan.jpg

Ruth Ann Vowan

Administrative Assistant & Choir Director
GMPC Staff | La Toya Hughes

LaToya Hughes

Nursery Attendant

Terry Watson

Church Sexton
bottom of page